Real Estate Exam by State

Georgia · salesperson exam · checked Oct 24, 2026

Georgia real estate exam, checked against the bulletin

The Georgia real estate exam is one PSI appointment with two portions: PSI’s national portion on real estate principles and the 52-question Georgia Salesperson Supplement. PSI and the Commission publish the content outline and the fee, but not the time limit or a passing score, and this page says so instead of guessing. Everything below is taken from PSI’s bulletin dated 7/1/2026 and the Commission’s own rules.

Updated Oct 24, 2026 · Not affiliated with any state commission or test provider.

  • 52Georgia Supplement questions
  • $175exam fee (Oct 2026)
  • not publishedpassing score
  • not publishedtesting time

Try 4 Georgia-portion questions

0 of 4 answered · 0 correct
Question 1 of 4 · Finance and closing in Georgia · 15 items

At a Georgia residential closing, a buyer asks the salesperson to explain a provision in the security deed. What should the salesperson do?

Answer and explanations

Incorrect: A title examiner searches the record for liens and defects; neither the examiner nor the salesperson interprets deed provisions for a party.

Incorrect: Calling the terms standard steers the buyer's decision on a legal document instead of getting the question answered.

Incorrect: The lender's side drafted the instrument and does not advise the borrower on its meaning; the closing attorney is the right referral.

Incorrect: Explaining the legal effect of an instrument is legal advice, which a salesperson's license does not cover.

Correct: What a provision of a security deed legally means is a legal question; at a Georgia closing the attorney conducting it is the person to answer it.

Question 2 of 4 · Finance and closing in Georgia · 15 items

A Georgia security deed contains a power of sale clause. If the borrower defaults, which statement best describes the lender’s remedy?

Answer and explanations

Incorrect: Paying interest alone does not cure a default on the whole debt; it does not stop a properly noticed sale.

Incorrect: The borrower already agreed to the power of sale by signing the security deed; no new consent is needed at default.

Incorrect: No prior court approval is needed to exercise a power of sale; a court looks at the sale only if the lender later seeks a deficiency judgment.

Correct: A power of sale lets the lender foreclose by a public sale outside court, after the notice and advertising the law requires.

Incorrect: Court action is not needed when the security deed grants a power of sale, which is why most Georgia foreclosures are nonjudicial.

Question 3 of 4 · Finance and closing in Georgia · 15 items

A buyer purchases a home for $400,000 with a $300,000 loan. Which taxes apply to the deed and the security instrument?

Answer and explanations

Incorrect: An instrument given to secure a debt is expressly exempt from the transfer tax under O.C.G.A. 48-6-2(a)(1).

Incorrect: A $400,000 sale financed with a $300,000 long-term loan triggers both taxes; nothing in the facts creates an exemption.

Incorrect: The intangible tax is measured by the note, so it applies only to the instrument securing it, not to the warranty deed.

Incorrect: This swaps the two taxes: the deed carries the transfer tax and the security deed carries the intangible tax.

Correct: Georgia's transfer tax (O.C.G.A. 48-6-1) is charged on the deed that conveys the property; the intangible recording tax (48-6-61) is charged on the security instrument for a long-term note.

Question 4 of 4 · Georgia license law · 16 items

A Georgia broker defends an alleged unfair practice by stating that the conduct has been customary in the local market for years. Under Georgia law, which statement best describes the validity of this defense?

Answer and explanations

Incorrect: A local standard cannot authorize what the statute prohibits; the license law applies the same way in every market.

Incorrect: Reasonableness is not the test for a listed unfair practice, and there is no five-year rule.

Incorrect: Whether anyone complained before has nothing to do with whether the conduct breaks the statute.

Incorrect: Georgia law has no time-based exemption for customary conduct; the ten-year rule is invented.

Correct: The unfair trade practices in O.C.G.A. 43-40-25(b) are prohibited outright; how long or how widely a practice has been used is not a defense.

Answer every question to see your score

The exam at a glance

Checked Oct 24, 2026; sources are numbered and listed at the end of the page. Booking, scoring and retake rules with their own anchors: Georgia exam facts.
FactDetailSourceChecked
Test providerPSI, for the Georgia Real Estate Commission (GREC)PSI: Georgia Real Estate Candidate Information Bulletin (7/1/2026) [1]
National portionNot stated: PSI publishes the national outline in percentthe bulletin’s sample score form shows a national subtotal of 100PSI: Georgia Real Estate Candidate Information Bulletin (7/1/2026) [1]
State portion52 questions (Georgia Salesperson Supplement)PSI: Georgia Real Estate Candidate Information Bulletin (7/1/2026) [1]
Unscored questions1–10 experimental questions, about 10% of the totalthe February 2024 edition said 5 to 10PSI: Georgia Real Estate Candidate Information Bulletin (7/1/2026) [1]
Testing timeNot published by PSI or GRECthe on-screen tutorial before the exam, up to 15 minutes, is not counted as exam timePSI: Georgia Real Estate Candidate Information Bulletin (7/1/2026) · Georgia Real Estate Commission: obtaining a real estate license [1][2]
Passing scoreNot published as a numberGREC rule 520-1-.04(3)(a): set “by psychometrically sound criterion-related methods” and published before the examGa. Comp. R. & Regs. 520-1-.04 (licensing, examinations) · PSI: Georgia Real Estate Candidate Information Bulletin (7/1/2026) [1][3]
Exam fee$175non-refundable and not transferable, and it is forfeited if you do not test within 1 year of PSI receiving itPSI: Georgia Real Estate Candidate Information Bulletin (7/1/2026) · Georgia Real Estate Commission: obtaining a real estate license [1][2]
License fee$170, covering the first licensing perioda $45 activation fee (including $20 for the Real Estate Education, Research and Recovery Fund) and a $125 renewal fee, which together cover all Commission fees until the end of your birth month in the fourth calendar year after the year you are licensedPSI: Georgia Real Estate Candidate Information Bulletin (7/1/2026) · Georgia Real Estate Commission: obtaining a real estate license · Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. 520-1-.04 (licensing, examinations) [1][2][3]
RetakeBook again from the next day; a candidate who fails on a Wednesday can retest as soon as Friday. Full fee each timePSI: Georgia Real Estate Candidate Information Bulletin (7/1/2026) [1]
Validity windowApply within 3 months of the exam, or pay twice the application fee; after 12 months, retake the examGa. Comp. R. & Regs. 520-1-.04 (licensing, examinations) · PSI: Georgia Real Estate Candidate Information Bulletin (7/1/2026) [1][3]
Where you take itComputer-based at PSI test centersPSI: Georgia Real Estate Candidate Information Bulletin (7/1/2026) [1]
CalculatorOn-screen calculator; handheld calculators not allowedPSI: Georgia Real Estate Candidate Information Bulletin (7/1/2026) [1]

What the exam covers

The Georgia Supplement has three sections: license law (16 items), real estate practice in Georgia (21) and finance and closing (15). Each opens its own page with questions. The national areas below are shared with other states, so they link to the national section, where PSI’s weights are explained once.

Source: PSI Georgia Candidate Information Bulletin, 7/1/2026, content outlines, pp. 9–12. Checked Oct 24, 2026.
#Content areaSizePractice
1Georgia license law16 itemsPractice questions
2Real estate practice in Georgia21 itemsPractice questions
3Finance and closing in Georgia15 itemsPractice questions
4Property ownership—National section
5Land use controls—National section
6Transfer of title—National section
7Valuation and appraisal—National section
8Contracts—National section
9Agency—National section
10Real estate practice—National section
11Disclosures and environmental issues—National section
12Financing—National section
13Real estate math—National section

Numbers that are not in the bulletin

Prep pages often print a fixed time limit for each portion, a percentage you need on each one, or a rule that you retake only the portion you failed. The current bulletin states none of these. Testing time is not published, and the passing score is not published: Commission rule 520-1-.04 has it set by a psychometric study instead. Whether a failed portion can be retaken on its own is not stated. The minutes left are shown on screen once the exam starts.

Two portions in one sitting

The national portion follows PSI’s outline of real estate principles and practices, the same outline Tennessee uses. Its size is not stated: PSI gives the outline in percent, and the bulletin’s sample score form shows a national subtotal of 100. Agency, contracts, financing, valuation and math are explained on our national portion pages and on the PSI outline page, not repeated here.

The Georgia Supplement is the 52-item state part, and it is where Georgia’s own law sits: the license law and Commission rules, brokerage relationships, community association management, Georgia closing practice. The national portion is waived for one group: Florida residents who qualify for reciprocity take only the Georgia Supplement.

PSI adds 1–10 experimental questions, about 10% of the total. They are not marked and they use up exam time, so answer every question as if it counts.

From course to license

  1. Finish the education. The usual route is the 75-hour Salesperson Prelicense Course at a school the Commission approves; college credit or another state’s course can stand in.
  2. Book and pay PSI. The exam fee is $175 as of Oct 2026: Georgia cost.
  3. Pass at a PSI test center. Your score is on screen at the end; a fail comes with a diagnostic report.
  4. Collect the license at PSI. Bring a certified criminal history report from the GCIC, no more than 60 days old, plus the $170 license fee. Timing: apply within 3 months of the exam, or pay twice the application fee; after 12 months, retake the exam (how to get licensed).
  5. Finish the first year. Complete the 25-hour postlicense course within it, or the license lapses.

Georgia questions on your phone

Practice on your phone

Georgia salesperson: practice questions with every answer explained, in a study app. Not affiliated with any state commission or test provider.

Everything on the Georgia exam

The three Georgia sections

Sources

  1. PSI: Georgia Real Estate Candidate Information Bulletin (7/1/2026) test-takers.psiexams.com · checked Oct 24, 2026
  2. Georgia Real Estate Commission: obtaining a real estate license grec.state.ga.us · checked Oct 24, 2026
  3. Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. 520-1-.04 (licensing, examinations) law.cornell.edu · checked Oct 24, 2026

Georgia real estate exam, quick answers

Is the Georgia real estate exam hard?

There is no published figure to measure it by: the passing score is not published, and neither PSI nor the Commission publishes the time limit. The state part is the Georgia-specific one: 52 questions test Georgia’s license law, brokerage relationships and closing practice. The Georgia practice test shows where you stand.

Can I take the Georgia real estate exam online?

The bulletin describes one way to test: computer-based at PSI test centers. The license is issued at a PSI test center too, from 24 hours after passing.

How much does the GA real estate exam cost?

$175 paid to PSI as of Oct 2026, up from $119 in the February 2024 bulletin. The license adds $170, so the state and PSI together take $345 before school tuition and the criminal history report. Full breakdown: Georgia cost.

How many questions are on the Georgia real estate exam?

The Georgia Supplement has 52. For the national portion PSI prints percentages, not a count, plus 1–10 unscored experimental questions. Details: exam format.